Nepal’s Political Structure

by samyak
Official Name:Kingdom of Nepal
Form of State:constitutional monarchy
The executive:King Gyanendra is head of state and commander-in-chief. The prime minister heads a
Council of Ministers appointed from the elected House of Representatives and the
National Assembly
National Legislature:On November 9, 1990, Late King Birendra promulgated a new
constitution which introduced a multi-party system. The
legislature is bicameral: National Assembly with 60 members,
of whom 35 are elected by the House of Representatives, ten
appointed by the king and 15 are elected on a regional basis;
House of Representatives with 205 elected members from
national single-member constituencies.
Legal System:Supreme Court acts as court of appeal and review as well as
having powers of original jurisdiction; presides over four
regional, 15 zonal and 75 district courts.
Administrative division:5 Development regions, 14 zones, 75 districts, 3995 village
development committees and 36 municipalities.
Last national election:May 3 and 17, 1999
National election due:May 2004
National government:In the elections held on May 1999, Nepali Congress won an absolute
majority of seats in parliament. It formed a majority government, the
first in five years, with Krishna Prashad Bhattarai as the prime
minister. However, an internal power struggle within Nepali Congress
led, in March 2000, to the ouster of Bhattarai and his replacement by
his long-time rival within the party, Girija Koirala. This government lasted little over a year when Koirala resigned in July 2001 and was replaced by his rival Sher Bahadur Deuba